You can associate a photo to the patient's record, so you can more easily match names to faces as patients visit your office. This document is written with the understanding you will be using the iSight camera on your Mac, but you can use any web cam that is compatible with your Mac. There are different options when using a USB Camera.
To take a photo, go to a patient's record, then click the camera icon in the lower left corner of the MacPractice window. The Camera pane will appear and display a live image of the camera input.
The gear icon in the lower left of the camera display will allow you to select which device you wish to use. The button to the left of this will allow you to pop out the camera display into a separate window that you can resize to your preferred view. If the window is popped out, you can take a picture by clicking the button at the bottom of the window.
Position the patient in front of the camera, then click the camera icon (the blue-lit button in the screenshot above) again to take the image. You will see a gray border around the image, this indicates the picture has been saved, and it is no longer a live camera image. If the patient has multiple images, you will see an arrow above the image. Click this to navigate between the patient's photos.
NOTE: If you are in Many mode, but still have a patient selected in the sidebar of the Patient ability and you take a photo, the photo will go to the patient that is selected in the sidebar.
You can view patient photos in the sidebar by clicking on the Show and Hide Picture button.
The Patient Photo pane will open, and you can view the patient's photo. The most recently-added picture will always be displayed first.
If you right-click on the image, you will see a contextual menu with a few additional options:
- Browse for Photo: Select this item to add an existing image file (such as a scan, or a photo imported from a digital camera) to the patient's record.
- Save as: You can save the patient's image outside of MacPractice by selecting this option.
Delete the Picture: This option will remove the file from the patient's record. The image will be deleted and cannot be retrieved.
You can also view patient photos in the Attachments or Images ability under Patient Photos.