User Group Privileges allow you to control what each user or group of users can do in MacPractice. Privileges are accessed in the References ability by selecting User Group Privileges in the sidebar.
Be default, MacPractice has an Administrator group, an Others group, and a SuperAdmin group which cannot be changed. The SuperAdmin group is a fail-safe that may need to be used by the support department in the event all administrators forget their passwords. You may use this User Group Privilege for any users you wish to grant full access to MacPractice. If you have purchased the Kiosk option for EMR or EDR you will also see a Kiosk user group.
To create a new user group, click the green plus button in the sidebar. You will need to give the group a name, which can be anything like Scheduling, Front Office, Billing, Office Manager, etc... You can name the Reference after the types of tasks the users will be performing or after individual users depending on how you set them up. For this example, I will use Scheduling.
From there, select an ability on the left and uncheck the actions you do not wish the user to perform, or check the privileges you do wish them to perform. For example, you probably want to make sure users cannot edit their own privileges or the privileges of others. To do this, select References on the left and uncheck Edit Users and Group Privileges.
You will notice when you click on an ability, the area on the right displays a short description of what the ability does. You will want to go through each item of the left to be sure the user privileges are set appropriately. Keep in mind some privileges may affect whether another privilege is applicable or not. For example, in the Ledger privileges there is a View Ledger privilege. If a user doesn't have the View Ledger privilege checked, they won't be able to access the ledger at all so the rest of these privileges don't apply to them.
If you haven't already done so, you will need to associate the newly created User Group Privileges to a specific user. Select the intended user in the sidebar and then navigate to the Privileges tab. Select the User Group Privilege from the pop up menu. You will see a summarized list of that group's enabled privileges. In order for this change to take effect, the user will need to log out and back into MacPractice.