Scroll

Admin Orientation 5 - Creating New Users

 

Setting up Users should be done before you have any staff log into MacPractice. MacPractice recommends creating a separate user for each person who will be using the system, NOT for each computer.  This will ensure that you can always track their actions and control their privileges. Navigate to the References ability in MacPractice and select Users at the bottom of the sidebar. Click the triangle to expand the node.

Initially you will only see the Admin User account. For security reasons, we recommend changing the password for this user. This can be done by selecting the admin User in the side bar, then clicking the Set Password button in the middle of the detail window. Enter a new password that is at least 8 digits and is not the word "password". This password will need to be entered twice to be verified. If you would like MacPractice to generate a random password, click the Generate and Print Password button. Click ok to save this new password. Make sure that you save your changes by going to the Edit menu and selecting Save Record or using the keyboard shortcut, Command S. These changes will take effect the next time the user logs into MacPractice.

Before you begin adding users you may also decide to set up the default user, which will carry forward generic information into all new records. For example, if you would like all users to have the same address and email address you may enter it here in the default. 

To create a new User, click the green plus in the sidebar. You will notice that several fields appear in red. This means they are required fields. In addition to the first and last names, each user will need a username and password and a user ID. The User ID is used when tracking actions within MacPractice and must be unique for each user. User ID's can be anything you wish, such as the user's initials or a number. Set each user's username and password as well as any other demographic information you choose. You can also assign the user to a privileges group in the privileges tab. Note that you cannot change the privileges here, only assign the user to a group. User Group Privileges is covered in another section. 

Remember to save when you finish creating the user by using the Edit Menu or the keyboard shortcut, Command S.

Was this article helpful?
0 out of 0 found this helpful

Comments