Scroll

Backup Guide - Operating System Groups

You'll want to review and assign the correct User Group permissions for the MacPractice Server computer users to ensure the proper levels of access are assigned to each user. The MacPractice Backup files are only accessible to an Operating System user who is a member of the macpractice_backup user group. To edit the system users, select the Apple menu in the upper left corner of the screen, then select System Preferences followed by Users & Groups.

Click the lock in the lower left corner of the System Preferences window to make changes to the groups. Enter the computer administrative username and password. This is the username and password for the computer, not MacPractice.

Next, select the macpractice_backup group and check the box next to any computer users that should create or view MacPractice backups on the server. Click the lock icon and close the window to save the changes.
backup_OS_usergroup.png

Note:
The macpractice_client group was used with older versions of MacPractice where each client shared a client disk image. This group is not used in MacPractice 5 and up.

Was this article helpful?
0 out of 0 found this helpful
Have more questions? Submit a request

Comments