Scroll

Backup Guide - Restore a Backup

Before restoring a backup, you will want to identify the latest backup that you can restore to in order to avoid any potential data loss. If you are ever in doubt, don't hesitate to contact MacPractice Support.

Restoring a backup may take some time, depending on the size of the database. In general, restoring a backup can take as long as three times the length of time to create a backup. The amount of time needed should be considered before restoring a database, as the process must never be force quit and all MacPractice Terminals will by necessity be logged out for the entire backup restoration process.

When you have located the backup you wish to restore, and have placed it on the MacPractice server, you are ready to begin. Open the MacPractice Login window and click on the gear icon in the upper right corner, visible in the screenshot below. Enter the computer's administrator username and password to unlock the Database Connection Configuration settings. Click the Restore button to start the restore process.

From the resulting window, select the backup to restore, then click Open to continue the process. MacPractice will notify you that restoring this backup will overwrite previous data. If you have confirmed the previous backup is copied elsewhere, click Restore to continue the restoration process.

If the "I am restoring data for my main production database" checkbox as shown in the below screenshot  is unchecked, the backup will be restored without these items:

  • Autoremind User
  • Username
  • eStatement Password
  • Medavant PP Password
  • Demandforce Configuration information
  • NEA
  • UpDox Faxing user and password
  • Direct Messaging user information
  • Phone numbers and e-mails for all patients

Screen_Shot_2017-05-08_at_4.18.44_PM.png

The backup will begin restoring and prompt for authentication once attachments are to be restored. When the authentication prompt appears, enter the computer administrator username and password to authenticate. Once the restore has completely updated the database, restart MacPractice from the resulting prompt.

Upon the next login, if no update is needed, MacPractice will automatically open to the default view. However, you may need to run an update for MacPractice to process the new information. Click the Update button to start the updating process. After the Update button is clicked, the database will begin updating. Do not force quit this process.

Was this article helpful?
0 out of 0 found this helpful
Have more questions? Submit a request

Comments