When a staff member leaves the office, removing their user is one important step for security. The steps are different depending on whether that user was a regular user or a provider in MacPractice.
Removing a Regular MacPractice User
If you need to remove a non-Provider Reference the first thing you will want to do is mark their User Reference as Inactive. This step prevents the user from logging into MacPractice. In builds of MacPractice earlier than 12.15, you can simply do this by clicking the "User is Inactive" checkbox under the Username field, as indicated in the screenshot below.
In MacPractice Build 12.15 and higher, you can inactivate a User by selecting "Disable User Login" in the Actions drop down menu to the right of the Username field.
Once they are Inactive, click the minus button at the top of the Reference column. A warning window will appear to confirm. Click Archive. Archiving the user keeps them from appearing in the References and may also keep them from appearing in Reports depending on a preference.
After the employee is removed, MacPractice recommends that all existing users' passwords and any Remote Access logins be changed for security.
Removing a Provider
A Provider is often associated to many types of records in MacPractice. When they leave the office, there are a couple of steps you'll want to take to discontinue their access and adjust patient records so they are no longer associated with the leaving Provider. You'll still want to retain the provider's user reference for your records, but a few simple steps will minimize accidental usage of that Provider record.
If the provider in question needs to be removed as an eClaims and/or ePrescribe provider, please contact the MacPractice Enrollment Department to complete the necessary paperwork. They can be reached via email firstname.lastname@example.org or by popping the bubble in MacPractice.
First, we'll want to determine which provider(s) will take those patient accounts. The easiest way to update accounts in bulk is to use a Database Utility to change all accounts and patients from the leaving Provider to another Provider.
BEFORE RUNNING ANY DATABASE UTILITY, REMEMBER TO BACK UP YOUR DATABASE! MacPractice Menu > Preferences > Server Backup. You'll also want to be on the MacPractice Server Computer.
There are two utilities you'll use to achieve this:
- Run "Update Account Provider." Select the user to archive in the top drop down menu. Select a new provider in the bottom drop down menu. Select Go and follow the prompts to proceed.
- Next, run "Update Patient Provider." The same steps for updating account provider apply. Change anyone who has the provider to be archived to another provider.
These two utilities move the remaining patients to another provider for their future visits. These utilities do not remove the provider from the past charges, claims and payments.
Second, you'll need to mark the Provider's User Reference as Inactive. This step prevents the user from logging into MacPractice. It will keep them from displaying on any provider selectors in MacPractice; for example, it prevents them from being selected in new charges. Depending on a preference, they may also be hidden from Reports.
If you have not completed step one, you may see this alert:
This simply warns you that you'll want to run the aforementioned Database Utilities. You can be taken directly to the Managers Ability by clicking the "Change" button on this prompt. Clicking this prompt DOES NOT automatically adjust tied accounts. You will still need to run the aforementioned Database Utilities on the Server Computer.
With these steps accomplished, the leaving provider will no longer be available to select for new charges, and no patients will be currently tied to the leaving provider. We recommend stopping here, as this achieves the goal of disabling the provider account while also retaining historical records of the provider's impact for future reference. We do not recommend that you archive a provider user.
Unarchiving a MacPractice User
In MacPractice builds 9 and above, simply go to your Menu bar, select File > Retrieve Archived >Users. Select the user, click Retrieve, then reload your sidebar in References to view this user.
If you are running MacPractice 7.3 and below, please contact our technical support representatives to run a Database Utility to retrieve this user.