Scroll

Removing a User

When a staff member leaves the office, removing their user is one important step for security. The steps are different depending on whether that user was a regular user or a provider in MacPractice. 

Removing a Regular MacPractice User
If you need to remove a non-Provider Reference the first thing you will want to do is mark their User Reference as Inactive. This step prevents the user from logging into MacPractice. 
Screen_Shot_2017-11-17_at_3.43.43_PM.png

Once they are Inactive, click the minus button at the top of the Reference column. A warning window will appear to confirm. Click Archive. Archiving the user keeps them from appearing in the References and may also keep them from appearing in Reports depending on a preference
Screen_Shot_2017-11-17_at_3.44.42_PM.png

After the employee is removed, MacPractice recommends that all existing users' passwords and any Remote Access logins be changed for security. 

Removing a Provider
A Provider is often associated to many types of records in MacPractice. When they leave the office, you must decide which items need changed. Examples of records that are tied to providers include appointments, clinical records and financial records. 

MacPractice recommends removing the provider from patient accounts and marking them inactive so they are no longer available for new data entry. However, removing the provider from old production (claims, charges, etc) is not typically recommended. This article covers how to remove them from accounts without impacting past work. 

First, determine which provider(s) will take those patient accounts. You may update the providers in bulk by using the Database Utilities on the server computer located under the Managers tabThere are two utilities involved with this process. 

  • Run "Update Account Provider." Select the user to archive in the top drop down menu. Select a new provider in the bottom drop down menu. Select Go and follow the prompts to proceed. If a recent backup of your database has not been completed, do so with the prompts. If a current backup exists, a user may cancel that step.
  • Next, run "Update Patient Provider." The same steps for updating account provider apply. Change anyone who has the provider to be archived to another provider. 

Screen_Shot_2017-11-17_at_4.03.52_PM.png
These two utilities move the remaining patients to another provider for their future visits. These utilities do not remove the provider from the past charges, claims and payments. 

Next, mark the User Reference as Inactive. This step prevents the user from logging into MacPractice. It will keep them from displaying on any provider selectors in MacPractice; for example, it prevents them from being selected in new charges. Depending on a preference, they may also be hidden from Reports. 
Screen_Shot_2017-11-17_at_3.43.43_PM.png

We recommend stopping here. At this point, the provider will no longer show for any new data entry. All of the old provider information such as clinical records and claims will remain intact. 

If you choose to archive the Reference, you must first reassign all ties to other records in MacPractice (Charges, Claims, EMR and EHR records, etc.), to another provider. We strongly discourage this, as you should always retain accurate historical clinical and financial records. When you hit the minus button in the sidebar, you will be prompted to reassign all financial data to another provider.
Screen_Shot_2017-11-17_at_4.13.44_PM.png

 

Unarchiving a MacPractice User
In MacPractice builds 9 and above, simply go to your Menu bar, select File > Retrieve Archived >Users. Select the user, click Retrieve, then reload your sidebar in References to view this user. 
Screen_Shot_2017-11-17_at_4.21.44_PM.png

If you are running MacPractice 7.3 and below, please contact our technical support representatives to run a Database Utility to retrieve this user. 

Was this article helpful?
0 out of 0 found this helpful
Have more questions? Submit a request

Comments