Scroll

Preferences - Server Backup

Preferences > Server Backups is only accessible from the MacPractice Server computer. Within the Server Backups pane of the MacPractice Preferences, you can configure and schedule where and when backups are created.

Screen_Shot_2020-02-21_at_10.42.06_AM.png

  • Default Backup Directory: The Default Backup Directory field sets the location to which automated backups are written. By default, this path is /Library/MacPracticeBackups. To change the Default Backup Directory, click the Choose button next to the Default Backup Directory field and select the location. This backup path can point to any local media, such as an internal or external hard drive. Backups cannot be made directly to non-local media, such as a networking path or directly to a CD.
  • Backup Times: The Backup Times field designates when backups will run for each backup directory.
  • Compression Level: The Compression Level slider controls the compression level for the backups. Lower compression will result in a faster backup creation time, but the final size will be larger. More highly compressed backups will take longer to create, but they will take up less space on your storage medium once finished.
  • Skip Compression Test: The Skip Compression Test checkbox disables the gzip compression test that is performed by default. It is recommended to leave this option unchecked. This test may be used by MacPractice Support to assist in some troubleshooting situations.
  • Encrypt Backups: The Encrypt Backups option encrypts MacPractice backups with secure AES-256 encryption. Enabling this preference requires a password to be entered before the backup can be restored. If the encryption feature is used, it is vital that you remember the password. MacPractice does not have a way to bypass the encrypted password. It is not possible to restore or decrypt an encrypted backup without the encryption password. MacPractice cannot retrieve the data stored within an encrypted backup. Despite this, we strongly recommend encrypting your backups to ensure your data is secure.
  • Restart Database Server After Backup Completes: This preference, when enabled, will trigger the MySQL server to restart once a backup finishes. This does not exit out of MacPractice, but upon a backup completion any other logged in users may experience slowness or loss of connectivity. If this is enabled, an office must ensure that backups are scheduled outside of operational hours.

For detailed information on creating a backup scheme, please see our documentation on Backup Guide - Backup Scheme.

Was this article helpful?
0 out of 0 found this helpful
Have more questions? Submit a request

Comments