Scroll

How do I Delete a Transparency Block or Type?

Many offices choose to clean up their transparencies every year or every few years. This article covers the methods to do so.

Note: In Builds 11 and up of MacPractice, we've revamped how Transparencies work in the software. For a more in depth article on all the changes, please refer to this article here.

Turn Off Transparencies
One simple option is to disable them by unchecking the transparency type in the sidebar. This will retain the transparencies but won't display them.

In Builds 7.3 and earlier, you can do this by navigating to the Transparencies node and uncheck that type of Transparency. 

Screen_Shot_2017-04-18_at_8.46.43_AM.png

In Builds 11 and above, you can perform the same step. Transparency Types are instead located in the Transparency Types node.

Screen_Shot_2021-07-20_at_9.00.50_AM.png

You may also right click on the transparency type and use the "Set Selection In Other Terminals" option to carry over any change to the right-clicked transparency to other MacPractice clients on your network. For example, if you disable lunch transparencies for yourself, you could also use this option to turn off that transparency for the other computers in the office.

This option applies to all builds of MacPractice.

End Repeating Transparencies
Another option is to end any repeating Transparencies. You can set up an end date on repeating transparencies to cause them to stop repeating after the set date. This will allow you to retain the prior history in your schedule regarding this transparency, and halt the transparency from being automatically added to the schedule.

On Builds 7.3 and earlier

Select that transparency block in the schedule, and then go to the Block tab in the drawer. Change the Repeat option from ending "never" to ending on the appropriate date. 
Screen_Shot_2017-04-18_at_8.52.39_AM.png

On Builds 11 and Above

You can double click a transparency block to bring up the transparency block's information. From here, you can set an end date. You can set this End Date to either end on the date indicated, or after.

Screen_Shot_2021-07-20_at_10.09.40_AM.png

 

Deleting Transparency Blocks
You can also simply delete Transparency Blocks as needed.

A single transparency block can be deleted from the schedule by right clicking on the transparency to be removed and selecting Delete.

This works the same on all builds of MacPractice, you'll just need to be on the Transparencies node in Builds 7.3 and earlier, and the Transparency Blocks node in Builds 11 and above.


Screen_Shot_2017-04-18_at_9.00.26_AM.png

On Builds 7.3 and earlier, you can delete a Transparency Type by selecting the Transparency Type in the sidebar underneath the Transparencies node, then right clicking the Type you'd like to delete and select "Delete Record". Alternately, you can select the Type and click the Red Minus button in the sidebar. This will delete all past and future occurrences of that transparency type. 
Screen_Shot_2017-04-18_at_9.01.01_AM.png

In Builds 11 and above, you'd instead navigate to the Transparency Type node, and 

Another option to remove custom transparencies is using the All Blocks tab in the drawer. Use the Options menu to remove repeats or just selected blocks. 
Screen_Shot_2017-04-18_at_9.02.03_AM.png

 

Delete a National or MacPractice Holiday from your Schedule
MacPractice Holiday and National Holiday transparencies are default transparencies, added to your MacPractice schedule without any action required.

  • MacPractice Holiday transparencies show holiday closings for the MacPractice Corporate office, including Technical Support.
  • National Holiday transparencies display when there is a US Federal Holiday.
To delete these transparencies, first go to Preferences > Scheduling > Transparencies > Uncheck ‘Automatically update default transparencies’. This preference determines if MacPractice creates/updates the MacPractice Holidays and National Holidays transparencies.  If this preference is checked and the transparency is deleted, it will be automatically recreated the next time you log in.
Screen_Shot_2017-04-18_at_9.09.28_AM.png
 
Now that the preference is disabled, deleting the transparency is now the same as when working with custom  transparencies. 
Was this article helpful?
0 out of 0 found this helpful

Comments