Scroll

Schedule - Resources Node

A Resource is a column in the Schedule. They can represent providers, rooms, chairs, equipment, or anything in the office for which appointments can be created or time reserved. Resources can be hidden by unchecking the box next to the resource in the sidebar. This is a local setting, so different computers can show different resources if desired.
Screen_Shot_2017-04-14_at_3.39.22_PM.png

Note: At least one resource must be enabled to use the Schedule. You must create a resource before using the Schedule. If none are created, there will be a warning upon selecting the Appointments node. 

Adding a Resource
To add a new column, select the Resources node in the sidebar of the Schedule. Click the green plus button to create a new record and enter the resource's information.
Screen_Shot_2017-04-14_at_3.37.09_PM.png

The Name will appear as the column header on the Appointments view of the Schedule. This field can be up to 25 characters in length.

The Code is a shorter way to refer to the resource. It can be up to 4 characters long and contain letters, numbers or symbolic code sequences that can be used to track the resource in MacPractice. Use a similar code to the Name (for example, Room 1 = R1). When printing the schedule, or viewing more days/columns on the same window, MacPractice will display the code instead of the name. 

The Type is a user-defined category for the resource. General categories can be used, such as Provider, Room, or Equipment, or another system can be used to suit the office.

The Office and Provider menus set a default office and provider for the resource. By default, the only or first office is selected in the Office menu, but the Provider menu defaults to None. Select a different provider from the list where applicable. Having the resource tied to the correct office allows users to quickly view a single office's schedule. 

If a patient is scheduled on a column with one provider, but the provider selected in their Patient tab does not match, the following alert will appear:


The alert can be ignored, the provider on the appointment can be changed, or the appointment can be moved to a different resource if desired.

Set the available hours within the Hours of Availability box. The hours will pull from the Default resource initially but can be edited manually. Check the Available checkbox for each day the resource can be scheduled. (Resources can be hidden on unavailable days by toggling a Scheduling Preference.) Next set the Open and Close times. The two sets of Open and Close fields allow for a break during the day, but the resource availability can be contiguous if the first Close field and second Open and Close fields are set to identical times. For example, for a resource to be available from 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM with no break, enter 8:00 AM in the first Open field and 5:00 PM in the remaining fields.

If you have AutoRemind service, check the box for appointments to receive AutoRemind notifications.

Online Scheduling
Designate which providers will show with each Appointment Type when the Patient is requesting their Appointment. This is used in conjunction with Online Patient Scheduling.

Resource Order
The order of Resources can be changed by dragging the Resource into the desired order. This change will be reflected on every computer connected to the database.

Description
The Description field is a free-form text field to enter other information about the resource. This is for internal use only and is not used elsewhere in MacPractice.

After entering all the information, save the changes in the Edit menu by selecting Save Record, or using the Command-S keyboard shortcut.

Deleting a Resource

Typically we do not advise deleting a resource. If you attempt to delete a resource by selecting it and clicking the minus icon, you'll get a warning like this:

Screen_Shot_2018-10-22_at_2.36.17_PM.png

This indicates that the resource has appointment history that would need to be cleared before deleting the resource. This is by design, as most practices will want to retain their appointment history.

If you wish to prevent a Resource from showing, we strongly recommend simply unchecking the Resource in the Resources node of the Scheduling Ability. This will hide the Resource from your view, while still allowing you to access that appointment history should you need it.

Was this article helpful?
0 out of 0 found this helpful
Have more questions? Submit a request

Comments