Scroll

Schedule - Cancelled, Missed, and To Reschedule Nodes

Cancelled, Missed, and To Reschedule appointment statuses are preset in MacPractice and work differently than a manually created status as well as displaying in the sidebar. 

Cancelled Node
Appointments that have a Status of Cancelled appear in this node.

Information on using this node can be found below.


Missed Node
Appointments that have a Status of Missed appear in this node.

Information on using this node can be found below.


To Reschedule Node
Appointments that have a Status of To Reschedule appear in this node.

Information on using this node can be found below.


 Using the Nodes
It is possible to use any of these three methods to set an appointment to Cancelled, Missed, or To Reschedule:

  1. Double-click on the appointment. Select the appropriate status from the combo box.
  2. Right click on the appointment. Select the appropriate status from the resulting menu.
  3. Drag it into the appropriate node/folder in the sidebar.

Click the triangle to the left-hand side of the node to open the folder. Appointments in the To Reschedule folder are purple, Cancelled are blue and Missed are red. These are color-coordinated to match the colors used in the list and tallies in Patients Ability > Patient Tab > Appointments Sub-Tab.

A previously Cancelled/Missed appointment may be rescheduled in one of the following ways:

  1. With the following preference Disabled: “Preferences > Scheduling > Calendar > Do not alert if patient has prior missed/cancelled/to reschedule appointments,” click and drag on the schedule as you would to schedule a new appointment. In the resulting pop-up, select “Reschedule” (if the patient has more than one Cancelled/Missed appointment, you will then be asked to choose which one you are rescheduling).
  2. Open the Cancelled/Missed node in the sidebar. Select the date in the mini calendar, then select the appointment and drag it back out onto the schedule.
  3. Open the Cancelled/Missed node in the sidebar. Select the appointment and drag it into the To Reschedule folder. Select your date, then drag the appointment from the To Reschedule folder onto the schedule.

One Mode
In the One Mode, when an appointment that has been labeled as Missed, Cancelled, or To Reschedule in the sidebar has been moved to a new slot, the appointment will still appear in the sidebar, but this is an Historical Appointment Record. It serves as a record of the appointment that was in the node. The Historical Appointment Record cannot be edited in any way.

Historical Appointment Records appear in black in the sidebar of the Schedule ability, and in grey in the Patients ability.

In Preferences > Schedule > Appointments, there is a checkbox to “Hide appointments in the Missed, Cancelled, and To Reschedule nodes when in One mode if they have already been rescheduled.” With this checked, the Historical Appointment Records will not appear.

Many Mode
Options 1 and 2 will completely remove the Missed/Cancelled Appointment from the node and the number of records displayed at the bottom of the screen.
Note: Option 3 will not decrease the number of records displayed at the bottom of the screen in the Appointments sub-tab of the patient tab in the Patients Ability.

Additional Notes For The Nodes
There is a Preference that adds an X to missed appointments in the past on the Schedule.

The status of Appointments can be tracked in various Scheduling Reports within MacPractice.

Was this article helpful?
0 out of 0 found this helpful
Have more questions? Submit a request

Comments

  • Avatar
    Harry Smith

    As of 7.3, if you click and drag an appointment of one of the selected Nodes, the appointment will reappear in the the node, (IE: To Reschedule) because MP is creating a new Appointment. The only way to remove the appointment from the side bar is to hit the red minus. Typically causes confusion for offices

  • Avatar
    Harry Smith

    Just saw your note.. :)

  • Avatar
    Harry Smith

    but I believe the historical record still occurs in Many Mode

  • Avatar
    Kyria Spooner

    The historical record (grey text) of the appointment in the node is supposed to be there in "one mode" unless the preference to hide them has been enabled. MacPractice does seem to also display them in "many mode," at least for awhile. A refresh should cause them to disappear if you are in many mode. I typically have to do a refresh.

  • Avatar
    Kyria Spooner

    Also, we should think about getting rid of the one/many mode vocabulary in these updated articles, unless we are specifically talking about 4.4 or less, IMHO. Offices who got MacPractice within the last few years have never seen the One/Many button. Better to say, "with a patient selected" and "with no patient selected." ?